+44 (0) 1698 674 019 (Head Office) info@vr-services.co.uk

Carriage of Dangerous Goods

All drivers within the scope of the Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road (Driver Training) Regulations 1996 must be trained and hold a Vocational Training Certificate issued by DVSA. This is required by UK regulations implementing the relevant EU directive.

Courses must be approved by DfT and drivers must pass the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) examinations which are integrated in the courses. There are no ‘grandfather rights’ and compulsory refresher training must be completed within the five year expiry of the date of issue of the original certificate. The maximum number of delegates per course is 20. In-company courses can also be scheduled. Please note that time spent attending the ADR course will count as duty time under Driver Hours Law Regulations 561/2006.

Course Modules

There are 9 classes of ADR dangerous goods and they are:

  • Class 1 – Explosives- (Not a common class)
  • Class 2 – Gases
  • Class 3 – Liquids
  • Class 4 – Solids
  • Class 5 – Oxidising Agents
  • Class 6 – Toxic & Infectious Substances
  • Class 7 – Radioactive – (Not a common class)
  • Class 8 – Corrosives
  • Class 9 – Miscellaneous